We Will Call You

  • We shall call you back as soon as we have a line available.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

How To Get Your Matric Certificate



What everyone refers to as a matric certificate is actually the NSC (National Senior Certificate). This is what you will acquire upon completion of your grade 12 year.  The subjects that you have chosen to take in Grade 10 (which is a minimum of 7), will each have the percentage that you achieved for that subject as well as the relevant level.

The levels that you achieve work as follows.

  • 80-100%: Level 7
  • 70-79%: Level 6
  • 60-69%: Level 5
  • 50-59%: Level 4
  • 40-49%: level 3
  • 30-39%: Level 2
  • 0-29%; Level 1

If you do not achieve at least a level 2 in a subject then you have failed that subject. However, you have to do more than just get 30% average to pass matric. To pass matric and receive your National Senior Certificate you need to:

  • Get at least 40% for your home language subject.
  • Get 40% or higher for two other subjects not including your home language.
  • Get 30% or higher (not including the 3 subjects you got 40% or higher for)

This means that you can only get a level 1 or fail one of your matric subjects. Failing more will cause you to fail matric. So the conception that all you need is 30% average to pass matric is false.

There are other different types of passes, for your matric certificate. Each of these will mean something different for you. There are three different kinds of matric certificate passes. The first is the higher certificate pass which is the one discussed above. There are two others namely the diploma pass, and the bachelor’s pass.

To achieve the diploma pass you need to meet the following requirements:

  • 40% or higher for your home language subject.
  • 40% or higher for three other subjects not including your home language subject.
  • 30% or higher for your remaining 3 subjects.

This means that if you want a diploma pass you can’t fail any subject. However a diploma pass does give you the advantage of being able to study at a university of technology. However a diploma pass is not enough to allow you to study at a regular university. For that you need a bachelor’s pass.

To get a bachelor’s pass you need to fulfill the following requirements:

  • 40% or higher in your home language subject.
  • 50% or higher for at least 4 of your subjects, (This can include your home language subject)
  • 30% or higher for your remaining 3 subjects.

This is the highest level of a matric pass that you get. This qualifies you to be able to study at any tertiary education facility in South Africa. However this just means that you will be able to apply to any tertiary institution in South Africa, it does not mean that you will be accepted for your chosen field of study. The requirements to definitely be accepted vary depending on the field of study as well as the institution you applied for.

Last updated: November 8th 2016